Escort Vehicle Certification and Escort Vehicle Certification Renewal

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Course Description

Escort Vehicle Operator Certification General Information and Instructions

North Carolina requires escort/pilot vehicle drivers to be certified in accordance with 19A NCAC 02D. An 8 hour course is mandatory for initial certification which remains valid for 4 years from the issue date. Failure to maintain the conditions set forth in the aforementioned Administrative Code will immediately result in revocation of certification. Out of State EVO Certification Holders If you hold an EVO Certification in a state outside of North Carolina, please see the Reciprocation Agreement PDF.

Escort Vehicle Operator Renewal course (4 Hours) provides the Renewal certification required by the North Carolina General Statutes for oversize/overweight vehicle escorts. There is a test at the end of the course. Textbook and materials included in the cost of the course. The renewal class can be taken by those with prior certification, even if the certification has expired.

Renewal Requirements: (For previously certified drivers only)

  • Complete 4 hour course administered by a participating NC Community College
  • Submit Escort Vehicle Operator Application to the Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit’s office within 6 months of completing class.

Upon receipt of these items, the Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit will issue the new certification after verifying that the applicant meets the criteria defined in 19A NCAC 02D. 

Escort Vehicle Operator Certification course (8 Hours) provides the Certification required by the North Carolina General Statutes for oversize/overweight vehicle escorts. There is a test at the end of the course. Textbook and materials included in the cost of the course.

Initial Applicants Requirements:

  • Complete 8 hour course administered by a participating NC Community College
  • Submit Escort Vehicle Operator Application to the Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit’s office within 6 months of completing class.
  • Submit a current (no older than 6 months) Certified Driving Record to the Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit’s office within 6 months of completing class.
  • *NEW* Submit documentation of proof of completion of a defensive driving course that has been approved by the National Safety Council.

Upon receipt of these items, the Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit will issue the certification after verifying that the applicant meets the criteria defined in 19A NCAC 02D. 

If you have any other questions concerning a new certification or renewal you can also contact the NC DOT Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit at 919-814-3700 or 888-221-8166 or visit Escort Vehicle NC DOT Website.

Course Cost:
4 Hours (Renewal) $80
8 Hours (New)     $100

Registration Options 

PLEASE NOTE: Payment for continuing education classes is expected at the time of registration, as the classes are on a first-come, first-served basis. All costs must be paid for a student to be officially registered and completed prior to the class date the student wants to attend. 

If you need assistance with Registration please contact CE Registration at 704-922-6232. 

Online:
Go to Gaston College WebAdvisor, under the gold Registration bar click Register and Pay for Continuing Education Classes then Search For (Key Word) textbox type in escort and click Submit at the bottom of the webpage. Select the class you wish to take using the check box on the left side of the table, click Submit, and complete the requested information

Notes when using Online registration

  • If you have an address change, name change, etc., we will need this updated information so we can contact you in case of a class change/cancellation or refund. Entering different information on the registration form will not update any existing records. If your information has changed, please call the Registration Department at 704.922.6232.
  • Online registration is not an option for all classes, or if the course fee will be waived. Underage students (16 and 17 year olds) are not eligible for online registration/payment, but may contact the program area responsible for the class to discuss the registration procedure. Credit card payments will only be accepted with Online and Walk In registration.
  • You cannot DROP/WITHDRAW from classes using WebAdvisor. If you need to drop or withdraw prior the class start date, please contact the Registration Department at 704.922.6232.

Walk-in:
CE Registration Department
MYERS CENTER – 2nd floor
201 Highway 321 South
Dallas, NC 28034

Hours of Operation: 
Monday through Thursday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm        Dallas Campus Map
Fridays 8:00 am – 3:00 pm

What to bring:

  • Driver’s license
  • Pen and paper

Refund Policy

If a student officially drops from a class or classes before the 10 percent date of the class(es), a 75 percent tuition refund will be given for the class(es) dropped. A 100% refund will be made if the student drops from the class prior to the class start date. No refunds will be given after the 10 percent date. If a course fails to materialize, refunds are automatically processed. (The refund policy is subject to change. Refunds of tuition will be issued in accordance with the current state and college policy.)

To request a refund or transfer within our refund policy guidelines, please email gcregistrar@gaston.edu or call 704-922-6232. 

 

“Like” is on Facebook “Gaston College Continuing Education”

For more information, email ConEd@gaston.edu.

Sign Up Button