Whether you are pursuing a new certification with your company or on your own, becoming a notary public is a great way to continue developing your resume. Notaries are commonly known for providing signature verifications, but this certification offers far more potential than most realize. A certification in Notary Public adds a high level of credibility as you strive for new opportunities and can often provide a stream of additional income as well. The trainers at Gaston College are knowledgeable, dedicated, and focused on developing a strong foundation so that your certification can be used to its full potential.
What you need to know
There are several state prerequisites that must be met in order to register for this class. These include:
- Must be at least 18 years or older
- Must live or work regularly in North Carolina
- Must have a high school diploma
- Must be able to speak, write, and read in English
- Must not have a felony conviction or civil judgment
You must pre-register and pre-pay before class. Once you are registered, be sure to bring a current photo ID to each class. Required textbook (North Carolina Notary Public Manual, 2016) is available in the college bookstore for $27 + tax and must be purchased before entering the Notary Public class. This course is a total of 7 hours and costs $77. Additional cost include: commission fee, seal, oath of office, and a Notary Public Record Book should also be considered when registering.
Why wait? Begin your certification!
When it comes to your career, you are always striving to take it to the next level. Often, additional education is necessary. At Gaston College, we offer a wide array of continuing education courses that can help you move forward and pursue your career goals. If you have any further questions, please email ConEd@gaston.edu.
If a student officially drops from a class or classes before the 10 percent date of the class(es), a 75 percent tuition refund will be given for the class(es) dropped. A 100% refund will be made if the student drops from the class prior to the class start date. No refunds will be given after the 10 percent date. If a course fails to materialize, refunds are automatically processed. (The refund policy is subject to change. Refunds of tuition will be issued in accordance with the current state and college policy.)
To request a refund or transfer within our refund policy guidelines, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 704-922-6232.