Print Friendly, PDF & Email

NC Auto Safety and OBD II Emissions Classes

 

NC Auto Safety Certification/Renewal: 8 Hours – $90 per course

This is the state-required certification for all individuals seeking authorization to perform annual motor vehicle safety inspections. This class DOES NOT meet training requirements for emissions testing. This eight-hour course is used for new certifications as well as the renewal certifications as required by the DMV. Textbook included in the cost of the course.

SPRING 2020

  • Tuesday, January 14 & Thursday, January 16, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, January 21 & Thursday, January 23, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, February 4 & Wednesday, February 5, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Tuesday, February 11 & Thursday, February 13, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, March 3 & Wednesday, March 4, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Tuesday, March 17 & Thursday, March 19, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, April 7 & Thursday, April 9, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, April 21 & Thursday, April 23, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Tuesday, May 5 & Wednesday, May 6, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Tuesday, May 12 & Thursday, May 14, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

SUMMER 2020

  • Monday, June 8 & Tuesday, June 9, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, June 10 & Thursday, June 11, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, July 13 & Tuesday, July 14, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, July 15 & Thursday, July 16, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, August 17 & Tuesday, August 18, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, August 19 & Thursday, August 20, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

FALL 2020

  • Monday, September 14 & Tuesday, September 15, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, September 16 & Thursday, September 17, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, October 5 & Tuesday, October 6, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, October 7 & Thursday, October 8, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, November 9 & Tuesday, November 10, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, November 11 & Thursday, November 12, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, December 7 & Tuesday, December 8, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, December 9 & Thursday, December 10, 6-10 pm, DSC 208

OBD II Emissions New: 8 Hours – $90 per course

This eight-hour course will allow inspectors to become certified in emissions inspections for North Carolina State inspections, NC Department of Motor Vehicles. Required textbook is included in the price of the class.

SPRING 2020

  • Monday, January 27 & Wednesday, January 29, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, February 19 & Thursday, February 20, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, March 16 & Wednesday, March 18, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, April 29 & Thursday, April 30, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

SUMMER 2020

  • Wednesday, June 24 & Thursday, June 25, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, July 29 & Thursday, July 30, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Wednesday, August 26 & Thursday, August 27, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

FALL 2020

  • Wednesday, September 23 & Thursday, September 24, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, October 28 & Thursday, October 29, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, November 18 & Thursday, November 19, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Wednesday, December 16 & Thursday, December 17, 6-10 pm, DSC 208

OBD II Emissions Renewal: 8 Hours – $90 per course

This eight-hour class will satisfy the renewal of a North Carolina emissions inspection license required by NC Department of Motor Vehicles. Required textbook is included in the price of the class.

SPRING 2020

  • Monday, January 13 & Wednesday, January 15, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, February 24 & Wednesday, February 26, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, March 2 & Wednesday, March 4, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, April 6 & Wednesday, April 8, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, May 11 & Wednesday, May 13, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

SUMMER 2020

  • Monday, June 22 & Tuesday, June 23, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, July 27 & Tuesday, July 28, 6-10 pm, DSC 206
  • Monday, August 24 & Tuesday, August 25, 6-10 pm, DSC 206

FALL 2020

  • Monday, September 21 & Tuesday, September 22, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, October 26 & Tuesday, October 27, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, November 16 & Tuesday, November 17, 6-10 pm, DSC 208
  • Monday, December 14 & Tuesday, December 15, 6-10 pm, DSC 208

Course Meeting Location

DSC (Dalpiaz Building, Dallas Campus) Dallas Campus Map

Course Meeting Information

Late arrivals will not be allowed to attend class and will have to reschedule. If you have signed up for a certain date you must attend that day not show up on another class date instead; we must be notified about the change to make sure there is room in the class you want to attend.

Student must attend all 8 hours in order to complete the NC Auto Safety and OBD II Emissions classes.

Registration Options

Online registration is available for these classes. PLEASE NOTE: DMV will not process a completed OBD license until the SAFETY is completed for new certifications, therefore always take NC Safety FIRST and then OBD.

Online Registration instructions:

Go to our website www.gaston.edu, near the top middle of the webpage click WEBADVISOR. Click the yellow-gold Continuing Education box located on the right side of the webpage. Under the gold Registration bar click Register and Pay for Continuing Education Classes. In Search For (Key Word) textbox type in Safety OR OBD and click Submit at the bottom of the webpage. Select the class you wish to take using the check box on the left side of the table and follow the rest of the instructions.

Notes when using Online registration

  • If you have an address change, name change, etc., we will need this updated information so we can contact you in case of a class change/cancellation or refund. Entering different information on the registration form will not update any existing records. If your information has changed, please call the Registration Department at 704-922-6252 or 704-922-6496.
  • Online registration is for all these classes. Underage students (16 and 17 year olds) are not eligible for online registration/payment, please use the Walk-in option below or you may contact the program area. Credit card payments will only be accepted with Online and Walk In registration.
  • You cannot DROP/WITHDRAW from classes using WebAdvisor. If you need to drop or withdraw prior the class start date, please contact the Registration Department at 704.922.6252 or 704.922.6496.

Walk-in

CE Registration Department
MYERS CENTER – 2nd floor
201 Highway 321 South, Dallas, NC 28034
Monday through Thursday: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm 

Pre-Requisites

DMV will not process a completed OBD license until the SAFETY is completed for new certifications; therefore always take NC Safety FIRST and then OBD. The same for renewals, DMV will not process OBD II renewal if your Safety renewal will expire or has expired before OBD II renewal has been processed.

 

What to bring

  • All techs in the inspection classes are required to have a completed LT-310 Action Form (New version as of 7/2017) on the first night of class. This form is in triplicate (carbonless form) and must be hand printed & signed by the owner, partner, or supervisor of the garage or dealership employing them when it is sent to DMV. If the tech does not have this complete, he/she will be turned away and will need to call to reschedule.
  • If you need a form (New Version as of 7/2017) one can be mailed to you or picked up from the Dalpiaz building, reception area or DSC 203. If you are using previous versions please email ConEd@gaston.edu with mailing address in order for us to send you the 7/2017 version and please discard any old versions you have.

 

Refund Policy

If a student officially drops from a class or classes before the 10 percent date of the class(es), a 75 percent tuition refund will be given for the class(es) dropped. A 100% refund will be made if the student drops from the class prior to the class start date. No refunds will be given after the 10 percent date. If a course fails to materialize, refunds are automatically processed. (The refund policy is subject to change. Refunds of tuition will be issued in accordance with the current state and college policy.)

 

To request a refund or transfer within our refund policy guidelines, please email gcregistrar@gaston.edu or call 704-922-6232. 

 

“Like” us on Facebook

Question or concerns: email ConEd@gaston.edu or call Holly Lambert at 704-922-6353.

Thank you so much for choosing Gaston College for your educational needs.

 

Automotive