Outstanding 2016 Graduates Honored at Gaston College Awards Banquet

Outstanding 2016 Graduates Honored

Outstanding 2016 Graduates Honored at Gaston College Awards Banquet

Forty-nine outstanding Gaston College graduates were honored for academic achievement at an annual Awards Banquet held on Tuesday, May 3, 2016, at the Myers Center Multipurpose Auditorium, Dallas Campus.  The banquet, sponsored by the Student Government Association, Graduating Student imagerecognized students who were outstanding graduates, recipients of the President’s Award, Dallas Herring Achievement Nominee, Governor Robert W. Scott Leadership Nominee, North Carolina Community College System Academic Excellence Award, Senator of the Year, and divisional awards for academic achievement and leadership.

These outstanding graduates are among the nearly 1,000 students graduating this spring from Gaston College. Over 775 students will participate in the graduation commencement ceremony on May 13th starting at 4 p.m. at the Bojangles Coliseum in Charlotte.

The following students received divisional awards and other awards for or academic achievement:

Outstanding Graduates

Business & Information Technology
Anthony K. Lester – Accounting
Misty L. Dorsey-Hart –  Business Administration
Karen Holleran –  Business Administration – Human Resources Management
Robert Hill – Computer Information Technology
Latishia L. Anders – Computer Programming
Laura Londono – Criminal Justice
Heather Palmer – Criminal Justice – Latent Evidence
Adam J. Wilson – Information Systems Security
Estefania Morse – Medical Office Administration
Jorge A. Cortes – Networking Technology
Sarah Clemmer – Office Administration
Teresa Hudspeth – Office Administration – Legal
Mildred L. Brunt – Paralegal Technology
Brandy N. Rhom – Web Technologies

Health and Human Services

Eric J. Reel – Dietetic Technician
Travis E. Earls – Health & Fitness Science
Krystal D. Nguyen – Human Services Technology
Angela F. Vause – LPN-RN
Sara L. Donaldson – Medical Assisting
Summer M. Freeman – Nursing

Engineering & Industrial Technologies

Brandon A. Raines – Architectural Technology
Sharolynn K. Hamilton – Mechanical Engineering Technology
Matthew S. Postell – Nuclear Technology

Arts & Sciences

Marie D. Lafitte – Associate in Fine Arts
Leah M. James – Associate in Arts
Keith M. Fargason – Associate in Arts
Samantha Jo Christopher – Associate in Science
Robert Kasko – Associate in Science
Chelsey A. King – Associate in Science
Janna C. Stover – Associate in Science
Michael A. Dole – Biotechnology

Public Safety

Grace N. Norris – Fire Protection Technology

President’s Awards

Latisha Anders
Catlin Brewer
Megan Cooper
Jorge Cortes
Keith Fargason
Sharolynn Hamilton
Nathan Heafner
Leah James
Haley Lay
Ashley McGee
Karen Miles
Jacob Mocanu
Dana Toms-Staley

Dr. Patricia Skinner, president of Gaston College, presented the President’s Award to full-time students that maintained an overall 4.0 grade point average.

Student Government Association Senator of the Year Award

Raphael Tehandon
Senator of the Year is awarded for outstanding leadership and attendance.

North Carolina Community College System Academic Excellence Award

Samantha Jo Christopher
The NC Academic Excellence Award is awarded each spring semester to one student selected from each community college in North Carolina to honor their academic achievement. To be eligible for the award, recipients must be enrolled in a North Carolina community college, earn a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25, and complete at least 12 credit hours.

Governor Robert W. Scott Leadership Nominee

Raphael Tehandon
The Robert W. Scott Leadership Award was established in 2004 in honor of the former Governor who served from 1969-1973, and later as President of the North Carolina Community College System from 1983-1995.  The award is bestowed on students who demonstrate leadership on a statewide level.

Dallas Herring Achievement Nominee

Mildred Brunt
The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges. The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”

The 2015-2016 Student Government Association officers who sponsored the awards banquet this year are as follows:  Executive Council – Mildred Brunt, President, Leonardo Vargas, Vice President, Amanda Barlow, Secretary, and Marquis Peay, Treasurer; and Senate members – Layla Davis, Ki-Esha Dudley, Wesley Fulbright, Madison Knowles, Johnny McFalls, Yessenia Morales, Christopher Nichols, Raphael Tehandon, and Ra-Sheem Wideman. The SGA advisor is Renita Johnson.

The Gaston College Board of Trustees adopted a resolution recognizing the leadership of leaving SGA President Mildred Brunt. The Board directed that the resolution be recorded in the official Minutes of the Board at their Monday, May 9, 2016, monthly meeting.

Ms. Brunt will receive the Golden Gavel Award. This award is given annually when the college officially retires the outgoing SGA presidents’ official gavel.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email