Gaston College 2019 Academic Achievement and Leadership
Show Mobile Menu

Gaston College 2019 Academic Achievement and Leadership

Gaston College held its annual Academic Achievement and Leadership Awards ceremony on April 30, in the Myers Center Multipurpose Auditorium on the Dallas campus. The event recognized graduating students for outstanding accomplishments during their time at Gaston College.

Kyra Rhyne, President of the Student Government Association (SGA), welcomed the students and guests to the ceremony, and Dr. Silvia Patricia Rios Husain, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, offered remarks on the students and their achievements.

Following dinner, Dr. Dewey Dellinger, Vice President for Academic Affairs, introduced the presentation of awards for students in each of the majors within the College’s academic programs.

For Business and Information Technology, the following students were recognized:

  • Margarita Bowe—Accounting
  • Tannilen Reagan—Applications Development
  • Caleb Stalcup—Broadcasting and Production Technology
  • Gina Anderson—Business Administration, General
  • Stephanie Butler—Business Administration, HR Management
  • Boris Goretoy—Criminal Justice
  • Allyson M. Costner—Criminal Justice, Forensic Science
  • Timothy S. Moore—Digital Media
  • Italia E. Mekari—Healthcare Informatics
  • Faith L. Boltin—Information Systems Support
  • Jenny Arrington—Medical Office Administration
  • Nour E. Mekari—Networking and Cyber Defense
  • Kristy S. Sharper—Office Administration
  • Amy Baker—Paralegal Technology

For Health and Human Services:

  • Tonya Godwin—Dietetic Technician
  • Mary E. Devenny—Early Childhood
  • Lucille M. Leavitt—Health and Fitness Science
  • Kara A. Vowell—Human Services Technology
  • Madison P. Gibson—Medical Assisting
  • Heather N. Rodell—Nursing
  • Ellen Kay Kelley—Therapeutic Massage

For Engineering and Industrial Technologies:

  • Devon R. Easterberg—Electronics Engineering Technology
  • Michael A. Philbeck, Jr.—Manufacturing Technology
  • Gary E. Meadows—Mechanical Engineering Technology
  • Laura J. Lawson—Mechatronics Engineering Technology

For Arts and Sciences:

  • Kyra M. Rhyne—Associate in Arts
  • Matthew G. Moore—Associate in Engineering
  • Collin C. Patterson—Associate in Engineering
  • Audrey D. Hoffman—Associate in Fine Arts
  • Nicholas M. Tallent—Associate in Science
  • James Logan Abee—Associate in Science
  • Mideyshka Vázquez Suárez—Associate in Science
  • James T. Young—Associate in Science

For Public Safety:

  • Jason I. Faro—Fire Protection Technology

Three students were recipients of North Carolina Community College System Awards. Dr. Rios Husain presented the Dr. Dallas Herring Achievement Award. Dr. Herring was one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges; this award is given annually to a student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.” Ellen Kay Kelley was the recipient of that award.

Dr. Rios Hussain then presented the Governor Robert W. Scott Leadership Award, which is designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service. The award went to Victoria Brown.

Dr. Patricia Skinner, President of Gaston College, presented the North Carolina Community College System Academic Excellence Award to Michael Philbeck, Jr.

Michael Philbeck and President Patricia Skinner

Dr. Patricia Skinner, President of Gaston College, awards Michael Philbeck, Jr. the North Carolina Community College System Academic Excellence Award and President’s Award for Gaston College at the Awards banquet on April 30.


Forty-four students were recipients of the President’s Award, which recognizes full-time students who maintained an overall 4.0 GPA. Dr. Skinner presented awards to:

Yilliam Anderson Charles Gaddis Courtney Murphy
Gina Anderson Donna Gibson Lauren Parker
Lanala Barksdale Boris Goretoy Brittan Payton
Armandt Boonstra Leslie Grimes Michael Philbeck, Jr.
Margarita Bowe Anthony Hunt Lisa Raby
Solomon Brendle Kimberly Johnson Tannilen Reagan
Amy Buckner Douglas Kropski Jillian Ross
Mackenzie Caddell Laura Lawson Riley Scoggins
Rebecca Caldwell Lucille Leavitt Nicholas Tallent
Brandon Curry Maureen Lodato Rhys Tucker
Margaret Daves Deborah Long Emily Walters
Mary Devenny Kathryn Marlowe Shatina Watkins
Chase Dunford Jacob McCoy Brandon Wilcome
Ashlyn Edwards Italia Mekari James Young
Whitley Edwards Nour Eddin Mekari  
Academic Excellence Awards Recipients

Gaston College student recipients honored at the Awards sponsored by the Student Government Association of Gaston College as an annual event honoring outstanding graduates.

Awards Banquet

Shaun Grier was presented the Student Government Association Senator of the Year award by Kyra Rhyne, SGA President.

SGA President Kyra Rhyne presented the SGA Student Senator of the Year Award to Shaun Grier, Jr., after which Dr. Rios Husain delivered the ceremony’s closing remarks. In her remarks, Dr. Rios Husain congratulated the students on their accomplishments, thanked Gaston College faculty and staff and the students’ families for the support and encouragement they gave the students, and recognized Dr. Skinner for her years of service to Gaston College. Dr. Skinner announced in March that she will be retiring as President of Gaston College in March 2020.

SGA and Gamma Beta Phi members

Members of the Student Government Association and Gamma Beta Phi receive awards at the Awards Banquet. L to R: Award recipients were Clip Echendu, James Logan Abee, Kyra Rhyne, Renita Johnson, Coordinator of GC Student Activities, Shatina Watkins, Victoria Browne, Michael Philbeck, Jenny Arrington, and Joshua Scott.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email