programs Gaston College - Got a Question? Ask GC Welcome to Gaston College - Opportunities For Life

Future Students |  Student Resources |  Programs |  EWD/Continuing Education |  Online Learning



Home  Business and Information Technology > Paralegal Technology

Medical Office Administration
Associate in Applied Science Degree (A25310)

 

 

|Curriculum|

 

|

|Contacts|


This curriculum prepares individuals for employment in medical and other health-care related offices.

Course work will include medical terminology; information systems; office management; medical coding, billing and insurance; legal and ethical issues; and formatting and word processing. Students will learn administrative and support functions and develop skills applicable in medical environments..

Career Outline

Employment opportunities are available in medical and dental offices, hospitals, insurance companies, laboratories, medical supply companies, and other health-care related organizations.

Program Outcomes

  •  Students will demonstrate effective use of computer software applications to perform office functions related to medical office administration.
  • Students will demonstrate proper use of terminology and effective communication techniques related to medical office administration.
  • Students will demonstrate the ability to manage working relationships with internal and external customers.
  • Students will be able to identify professional, ethical and social issues related to medical office administration.
  • Students will demonstrate the ability to define a problem, identify possible solutions, and develop and implement solutions to issues arising in a business setting (individually and/or in work groups).

 Contact Us

You may contact the following faculty for further information.

Faculty Member

Office Phone

Office

E-mail Address

Leslie Martin, Chairperson

704-922-6284

CET 157A

martin.leslie@gaston.edu

Penny Brower 704-922-2356 CET 201G brower.penny@gaston.edu

Allyson Hancock

704-748-5481

LCS 104 hancock.allyson@gaston.edu

Ann Harmon

704-922-2313

CET 160A

harmon.ann@gaston.edu

Donna Love

704-922-6281

CET 158B

love.donna@gaston.edu

Angela Painter

704-922-2317

CET 154B

painter.angela@gaston.edu

Sue Shellman

704-922-6285

CET 157C

shellman.sue@gaston.edu

Teresa Worthy

704-922-6325

CET 158A

worthy.teresa@gaston.edu

 

 



Powered By Revize  Login