programs Gaston College - Got a Question? Ask GC Welcome to Gaston College - Opportunities For Life

Future Students |  Student Resources |  Programs |  EWD/Continuing Education |  Online Learning



Home  Business and Information Technology > Legal Office Administration

Legal Office Administration

Associate in Applied Science Degree (A2537A)

 

|Curriculum|

 

|

|Contacts

Legal is a concentration under the curriculum title of Office Administration.  This curriculum prepares individuals for entry-level positions in legal or government-related offices and provides professional development for the currently employed.

Course work includes terminology, operational procedures, preparation and transcription of documents, computer software, and court-related functions as they relate to the legal office profession.  Emphasis is placed on the development of accuracy, organizational skills, discretion, and professionalism.

 Program Learning Outcomes:

  • Students will demonstrate effective use of computer software applications to perform office functions related to legal office administration.
  • Students will demonstrate proper use of terminology and effective communication techniques related to legal office administration.
  • Students will demonstrate the ability to manage working relationships with internal and external customers.
  • Students will be able to identify professional, ethical and social issues related to legal office administration.Students will demonstrate the ability to define a problem, identify possible solutions, and develop and implement solutions to issues arising in a business setting (individually and/or in work groups).

Career Outline

Graduates should qualify for employment in corporate legal departments; private practices, including real estate and estate planning; and city, state, and federal government offices.  With appropriate work experience, graduates may apply for certification as a Professional Legal Secretary (PLS).

Contact Us

You may contact the following faculty for further information.

Faculty Member

Office Phone

Office

E-mail Address

Leslie Martin, Chairperson

704-922-6284

CET 157A

martin.leslie@gaston.edu

Penny Brower 704-922-2356 CET 201G brower.penny@gaston.edu

Allyson Hancock

704-748-5481

LCS 104 hancock.allyson@gaston.edu

Ann Harmon

704-922-2313

CET 160A

harmon.ann@gaston.edu

Donna Love

704-922-6281

CET 158B

love.donna@gaston.edu

Angela Painter

704-922-2317

CET 154B

painter.angela@gaston.edu

Sue Shellman

704-922-6285

CET 157C

shellman.sue@gaston.edu

Teresa Worthy

704-922-6325

CET 158A

worthy.teresa@gaston.edu

 

Powered By Revize  Login