Training at Gaston College is provided through a partnership with Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute, Hudson, NC. CCC&TI started training drivers in 1990 with one truck and a few students. Today they have over 70 pieces of equipment and have graduated over 2,000 CDL drivers in the past 10 years. At present Gaston College offers only full-time day classes requiring 8.5 weeks to complete.

Admission Requirements

Print Friendly

You must:

  • Attend a mandatory orientation session: (See schedule and orientation dates.)
  • Be at least 18 years old: Student graduates under 21 years old can drive only within North Carolina.
  • Hold a valid North Carolina Driver’s License with no limiting restrictions.
  • Be able to read and speak English well enough to take instructions from highway signs, to converse with officials, and complete the required reports. (FMCSR 391.11)
  • High school or college transcript 
  • Reading Placement Test with a minimum 8th grade reading level or better or present high school or GED® transcript showing graduation from high school or completion of GED® to register. Please bring an official copy of your test results with you to registration unless testing at CCC&TI in Hudson, where your grade will be in our student records.
  • Acquire a North Carolina Class A permit with no limiting restrictions before the highway-driving portion of your training or no later than hour 135 of the class.
  • Pass a DOT physical and/or hold a valid (12 month minimum) DOT medical card. This should be completed by the 1st day of class. A current medical card is required to drive on the road.
  • Complete and Pass a DOT drug screen by the 1st day of class. Negative results are required to get onto a truck and remain in class. (Drug screen information included in packet.)
  • Show proof of permanent residency: All immigrants must have proper paperwork.

Due to the strict requirements and restrictions of most trucking companies you must also have:

  • A current Motor Vehicle Record with no convictions in the past 3 years of: DUI, refusal to take a chemical test, hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident, careless and reckless driving, a preventable accident, or speeding 15 mph over the limit.
  • No felony or major misdemeanor convictions in the past 5 years, based on completion of sentence.

Note: Meeting these requirements will not guarantee you a position as a driver after course completion. Each trucking company has their own list of requirements; some more strict than what’s listed above.