Medical Office Administration-Billing and Coding

The Medical Office Administration-Billing and Coding programs prepare individuals to become medical specialists who prepare, submit and/or process insurance claims for medical and other health-care related offices.

Students will gain extensive knowledge of medical terminology, pharmacology, human diseases, diagnostic studies, surgical procedures, and laboratory procedures. In addition to word processing skills, students will gain knowledge of medical billing, coding and insurance.

Graduates should qualify for employment in hospitals, medical clinics, doctors’ offices, extended care facilities, diagnostic centers, insurance companies and other health related facilities. Upon graduation, students may be eligible to sit for industry-recognized certification exams.

Med Office Admin-Billing and Coding

The links below provide additional information on these programs.


 

Associate of Applied Science

Diploma

Certificate

Contact Information

Sue Shellman, Program Coordinator
shellman.sue@gaston.edu
(704)922.6285

Rebecca Anthony, Faculty
anthony.rebecca@gaston.edu
(704)922.6287

Penny Brower, Faculty
brower.penny@gaston.edu
(704)922.2356

Leslie Martin, Chair
martin.leslie@gaston.edu
(704)922.6284

Angela Painter, Faculty
painter.angela@gaston.edu
(704)922.2317

Dr. Teresa Worthy, Faculty
worthy.teresa@gaston.edu
(704)922.6325

Print Friendly